[an error occurred while processing this directive] ES News - 2005 NZSSS awards
The University of Waikato - Te Whare Wananga o Waikato

Department of Earth & Ocean Sciences

To The University of Waikato Homepage Waikato Home > Science & Engineering > Earth & Ocean Sciences
Site Index | Text Only
Waikcookie logout image

Earth Sciences in the News: 2005 NZSSS awards


Earth Sciences News & Events > NZSSS awards - 2005


Waikato Earth Science postgrads win top prizes again

Two postgraduate students from the Waikato University's Department of Earth Sciences, Dr Haydon Jones and Ms Rachael Standish, have been awarded elite prizes by the New Zealand Society of Soil Science for their research.


Dr Jones, now working as a soil scientist for Ensis (formerly CRI Forest Research ) in Rotorua, has been awarded the Morice Fieldes Memorial Award for best PhD thesis in soil science in New Zealand for 2005. The award was made jointly with a Massey graduate Dr Fabio Moreno . Haydon follows in the footsteps of last year's winner, Dr John Menneer (now at AgResearch), also from Waikato University.

Dr Jones worked on developing and testing new methods for predicting soil properties relevant to pine plantation forestry management in the Mahurangi area near Warkworth, Northland. The work, sponsored in part by Dr Tim Payn's sustainable management group at Ensis, involved soil-landscape modelling and spatial analysis. Haydon's chief supervisor was Associate Professor David Lowe, leader of the Soils Group in Earth Sciences.

Dr Lowe said "Dr Jones' thesis was outstanding and it's very gratifying that the Society has recognised this by making the award to Haydon. He is the ninth Waikato University graduate to receive the Fieldes Award , which is a great result considering we face tough competition every year from specialist soil science departments at Massey and Lincoln universities".

Rachael Standish, currently working as an environmental scientist at Tonkin and Taylor in Auckland, was awarded the Sir Theodore Rigg Memorial Award for her masterate thesis, judged the best in soil science in New Zealand for 2005. Rachael studied the contamination of soils and groundwater in the Taupo area by organochlorine pesticides (such as dieldrin, DDT), which had been banned in the 1960s. Rachael's award was the ninth to be made to a Waikato masterate student, and follows that by another Waikato graduate, Dave Palmer. Currently undertaking doctoral studies in Earth Science, Dave won the Rigg Award for his MSc thesis for 2003.

Both Dr Jones and Rachael Standish were presented with their awards at the N.H. Taylor Memorial Lecture of the New Zealand Society of Soil Science, a public lecture hosted by the Soils Group of the Department of Earth Sciences on Friday 18 Nov.




EOS Events
EOS Events
Environment Trail

Tongariro CD
... like being there

University Links

Current Calendar
Campus Map (.pdf)
Online Map
ES Quick-Links

All Departments
All Schools/Division
All Services
All Research
Student Info
Staff Info

Staff Search
Dept/Service Search
Services & Products

University Library
Subject Portals
Science Subjects
E. Sc. Resources

Internal Phonebook
Phonebook Updates
Phonebook's Help
Download Ph.Book
Fax Numbers

General Info
Contact University
Staff Training
Staff Help
Student Help


      | GO TO TOP |

Faculty of Science and Engineering - Te Mātauranga Pūtaiao me te Pūkaha
The University of Waikato - Te Whare Wananga o Waikato
Last modified: Tue Dec 19 14:00:47 2006

Page Generated: Sat Apr 27 04:20:19 2019
URL: http://erth.waikato.ac.nz/news/nzsss_awards.shtml
This page has been reformatted for printing